Thursday, March 11, 2021

Announcement: Atul Dixit (IIT, Gandhinagar) awarded the 2021 Gabor Szego award by OPSF SIAM

Dear all,

We are happy to report that Atul Dixit, one of the co-organizers of this seminar, has been awarded the 2021 Gábor Szegö Prize. This prize is awarded every two years by the SIAM Activity Group on Orthogonal Polynomials and Special Functions (SIAG/OPSF). It is awarded to an early-career researcher for outstanding research contributions within 10 years of obtaining a Ph.D.

The selection committee for the 2021 award consists of Peter Clarkson (Chair), University of Kent; Kerstin Jordaan, University of South Africa; Adri Olde Daalhuis, The University of Edinburgh; Sarah Post, University of Hawaii; and Yuan Xu, University of Oregon.


The selection committee in its letter to him cited his “impressive scientific work solving problems related to number theory using special functions, in particular related to the work of Ramanujan.”

Atul obtained his Ph.D. under the direction of Bruce Berndt in 2012 from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Subsequently he did a post-doc at Tulane with Victor Moll as his mentor. Currently, he is in IIT, Gandhinagar and has quickly developed a reputation among young and upcoming mathematicians in this country that has attracted a bright set of Ph.D. students and post-docs to his team. 

We wish Atul continued success, both personally and for the group he is leading. 

Gaurav Bhatnagar and Krishnan Rajkumar (co-organizers with Atul of this seminar). 


  1. Atul's talk in this seminar earlier.
  2. About the prize. 
  3. Atul Dixit's home page

No comments:

Post a Comment